The FIA ​​plans to hold the F1 GP in Portugal Formula 1

The International Automobile Federation (FIA) announced this Thursday its intention to hold the Portuguese Formula 1 Grand Prix until the contract with the organizer is signed.

In a statement made after the first F1 commission meeting, the FIA ​​announced that it “intends to fill the May 2nd available on the calendar with a race in Portugal” and states that “the The final agreement is still subject to “signing the contract with the organizer”.

If confirmed, it will be the 17th Portuguese GP to be second in a row after a 24-year absence from the World Cup in 2020 after returning to national territory.

The race at the Autódromo Internacional do Algarve (AIA) in 2020 was won by the Briton Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), who became the driver with the most victories in the history of the sport and the 91st of the Germans Michael Schumacher was won.

Hamilton would add two more by the end of a championship in which he won the seventh world crown, currently with 94 wins.

The F1 Commission also decided to extend the tire test days from 25 to 30 and to “freeze” the development of new engines between early 2022 and 2025.

The revised calendar, presented by Liberty Media, the organizer of the “Grande Circo”, provides for a recording of 23 events between March 28th and December 12th.


Bahrain GP, ​​Sakhir, March 28th
GP San Marino, Imola (Ita), April 18th
GP Portugal, Portimão, May 2nd
Spanish GP, Barcelona, ​​9th May
Monaco GP, Monte Carlo, May 23
Azerbaijan GP, ​​Baku, June 6th
Canadian GP, ​​Montreal, June 13th
French GP, Le Castellet, June 27th
Austrian GP, ​​Spielberg, July 4th
UK GP, Silverston, July 18th
Hungarian GP, ​​Budapest, August 1st
Belgian GP, ​​Spa-Francorchamps, August 29th
Dutch GP, Zandvoort, September 5th
Italian GP, ​​Monza, September 12th
GP Russia, Sochi, September 26th
Singapore GP, Singapore 3rd October
Japanese GP, Suzuka, October 10th
United States GP, Austin, October 24th
GP México, Mexico City, October 31
GP Brasil, São Paulo, November 7th
Australian GP, ​​Melbourne, November 21st
Saudi Arabia GP, Jeddah, December 5th
Abu Dhabi GP, Abu Dhabi (UAE) December 12th

Back to top button